THE ARICA CHILEAN CHALLENGE, CHILE 2015 – An APB Bodyboarding World Tour Contest.

Event No. 2 of the 2015 APB World Bodyboarding Tour.


THE ARICA CHILEAN CHALLENGE, CHILE 2015 – An APB Bodyboarding World Tour Contest.

Event No. 2 of the 2015 APB World Bodyboarding Tour.

24th July 2015

The final day of Men’s competition and day one of Women’s competition filled out a full day eight at the 2015 APB Arica Chilean Challenge. First in the water for the day was the Men’s consolation final, where Jose Otavio (Brazil) went up against Diego Cabrera (Canary Islands). Otavio looked out of sync, while Cabrera scored big with an 8.25 on a barrel to reverse and an 8.55 flip to barrel. Diego went on to win the consolation final and claim 3rd place overall (1314 points), with Jose finishing 4th overall (1206 points).

The Women’s Pro division hit the water for the first time with round one non-elimination heats. Heat winners advanced directly to round three. Meanwhile, the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th place finishers would battle it out again in round two. The standouts that won their heats and skipped a round were Paloma Freyggan (Chile), Clare McGowan (England), Valentina Diaz (Chile), and 3-time World Champion Isabela Sousa (Brazil). The highlight of round one was Isabela’s 9 point barrel ride while, in one of the more shocking moments, 5-time World Champion Neymara Carvalho was called for an interference in her heat. This pushed her into 4th place, and forced her to fight it out again in round two.

[df-gallery url=””]

In the highly anticipated face-off between South African Jared Houston and 2-time defending World Champion Amaury Lavernhe, Amaury jumped out to a total score of 18.00 points in the first five minutes. This left Jared in combination situation virtually from the start. Remaining undeterred, though, Houston battled his way back into contention. On the strength of an 8.50 backflip and a huge 9.50 invert, Jared tied Amaury at 18.00 points late in the heat. The two riders remained deadlocked as time burned off the clock and, in a final suspenseful exchange with 20 seconds remaining on the clock, both competitors took off on a split peak. This last, dramatic effort would be to no avail, and Jared would win on a tiebreaker by virtue of his high score 9.50 in the heat.

Following the Men’s final and awards ceremony, Women’s competition resumed with round two where the top two riders would advance to round three. Luz Marie Grand (Puerto Rico) would win heat one with Savitri Alvarez (Chile) finshing second, while defending World Champion Alexandra Rinder (Canary Islands) would win heat two with Begoña Martinez (Venezuela) advancing out in second. Heat three saw a pair of Brazilians moving on to round three with Brazilian National Champion Jessica Becker and Neymara Carvalho finishing first and second, respectively. Wrapping up round two were Kirtys Montenegro (Brazil) winning the heat and Chilean National Champion Anais Velis finishing second.

Women’s competition continued into round three with diminishing conditions. Paloma Freggan and Luz Marie advanced out if heat one to fill the first two slots in the quarterfinals. Alexandra Rinder and Clare McGowan moved forward out of heat two. In the final heat of the day,Jessica Becker and Anais Velis worked their way through heat three into the quarterfinals. Heat four with Isabela Sousa, Kirtys Montenegro, and Neymara Carvalho will be the first heat in the water tomorrow morning.

Competition will resume tomorrow for the Women’s final day. All women’s competitors and event staff are on call for 8am local Chilean time for a potential start time of 8:30am.

Stay tuned to for all the action.

Watch the live event webcast at and follow all the action on our social media:     instagram@apbtour      twitter@apbtour

For APB media related info:




Association of Professional Bodyboarders copyright 2015



Recommended Posts
    pingbacks / trackbacks

    Leave a Comment

    Start typing and press Enter to search