Cronulla, Sydney Australia

June 3 rd 2016

The OpenLIVE Shark Island Challenge World Bodyboarding invitational competition has been

placed on standby alert and set to run next week. Weather forecasters are predicting a very

large swell above the 5m mark to hit the east coast of Australia on Sunday 5 th June and

produce waves of up to 6m in height.

A handful of the world’s best Bodyboarder’s have been alerted and will be ready to compete in

the two-day event that will take place at Shark Island in Cronulla, Sydney Australia.

Andrew Lester (Defending champ), Mike Stewart (Hawaii), Ben Player (NSW), Tanner

McDaniel (Hawaii), Mitch Rawlins (QLD), Dave Winchester (NSW), Lewy Finnegan (W.A),

Damian King (NSW), Shaun Pyne (Cronulla) and many more of Australia’s best athletes will

take battle in the world’s heaviest and most dangerous Bodyboarding wave – Shark Island.

This predicted swell is shaping up to rival the 2001 Shark Island Challenge – the most historic

and craziest Shark Island to date, which had a similar swell size and direction.

Contest organiser’s have put the event on alert for a possible start on Monday 6 th June through

to Friday 10 th June. The event will run over 2 days starting at 7:00am and finishing at 12:00pm

both days.


The athlete selection process will take place tomorrow and selectors will be using a selective

criteria method which involves recent and current form, tour results, previous Shark Island

results, big wave talent and skill level.

The invitational format will include a two-round leaderboard format with a 4 man final from

highest ranked riders over the 2 rounds surfed.

The event has been waiting to run now for over 18 months. In 2015, the appropriate swells

needed for Shark Island Challenge did not happen therefore the event was unable to proceed.

Stay tuend on for updates leading up to the event and live broadcast show

on and all social media platforms /apbtour

Athletes so far confirmed:

1. Mike Stewart, Hawaii (9 x World Champ & 2000 SIC Champ)

2. Ben Player, Australia (3 x World Champ & 2007 + 2008 SIC Champ)

3. Andrew Lester, Cronulla (3 x Aus Champ & 2014 SIC winner)

4. Mitch Rawlins, Australia (voted no.1 in world peer poll & 2012 SIC winner)

5. Alex Leon, Cronulla

6. Shaun Pyne, Cronulla

7. Dave Winchester, Aus (World No.2 – 2010, 2011 and 2013)

8. Damian King, Aus (2001 SIC Champ & 2 x world champ)

9. Nick Ormerod, Aus

10.Christian Riguccini, Cronulla (1999 SIC Champ)

11. Tanner McDaniel, Hawaii (APB Pro Junior no.1 in world)

12. Josh Kaihe, Cronulla (2013 SIC Champ)

13. Winston McCall, Aus (Parkway Drive Lead singer and pro Bodyboarder)

14. Shaun Peterson, Aus (2014 Sic runner-up)

15. Nugget Purcell, Cronulla

10 more athletes will be selected to make the athlete field of 25 competitors and will be

announced Saturday 4 th June.


Presented by:

BOKA Green energy

Supported by:

Surfing NSW, Association of Professional Bodyboarders, Nutrition Station, Emerald Bodyboard

Store, Inflight Media, Sutherland Shire Council & GoLive Australia.

Event Period Dates:

June 6 th – 9 th (Best two days of surf)

About OpenLIVE – Home of Live and Hi-Res Music

OpenLIVE is a download store for Hi-Resolution Music and a platform that will deliver a growing

catalogue of live music from your favourite and soon-to- be favourite bands. Built by Musicians and

Music Fans for Musicians and Music Fans, OpenLIVE will deliver music as intended by the Artist –

uncompressed and intact. Founded in Australia, OpenLIVE has developed exciting new technology that

turns live music into live performances with no cost to the Artist. Experience music as it should be

heard with OpenLIVE.

Photo credit: Paul Gleeson

Recent Posts
Showing 3 comments
  • Brownboy

    Hey guys invite plc and jeff and dave hubbard!!!

  • VIctor Dubois

    Will it be LIVE BROADCAST?

  • kami9

    invite Joe Grodzen!!!!
    and is this going to have a live stream? any updates?

Leave a Comment

Start typing and press Enter to search