At Fronton King, chasing the throne is exhilarating.

At Fronton King, chasing the throne is exhilarating.

Fronton King 2017 Day 7

At Fronton King, chasing the throne is exhilarating.

There really isn’t a better wave on the planet which offers a canvas purpose-built for bodyboarding to express itself upon. Nowhere else on this little blue planet, spinning around in the solar system, can you find a wave that can leave you fearing for your life in one moment, to celebrating in another. El Fronton is unique in its ferocity and potential for excellence, and today, the final 24 riders in the Fronton King 2017 experienced both firsthand.

There were simply too many amazing moments to list them all, so stay tuned for some epic clips and check into the APB Tour Facebook page for everything else.

But of course, here is a run-down of some of the more exceptional moments:
Jacob Romero charges and does amazing reverse airs on demand, but you knew that already. And the judges do too, awarding him some excellent scores for a crazy reverse air in his Round 3 Heat against friend Tristan Roberts, as well as riding to perfection a draining right-hander in his Round 4 heat with Dudu Pedra and local junior superstar Lionel Medina.

Lionel Medina is officially the ‘Kingslayer’. He knocked out the recently crowned world champ and was dangerous in his Round 4 heat with Romero and Pedra. The young fella simply couldn’t keep up with Pedra’s 10-point ride and Romero’s relentless performance. He is going to be someone to watch for many years to come.

Dudu Pedra got the ‘Golden Boom’ from Manny Vargas and the rest is history. A late take off to deep tube on a massive set wave, finished off with a beautiful ARS to leave a deep punctuation mark. The judges said: 10.

Ryan Hardy is still in the game and the game is happy to have Ryan Hardy still in it. Because, who else would finish a huge draining barrel in 6-10 foot Fronton with a forward spin to dropknee claim? Ryan Hardy, that’s who. One of the greatest riders to never (yet) win a world title was again in devastating form in his Round 4 heat with PLC and Lewy Finnegan and word on the street is that he wants to make a serious crack at it in 2018. Oh yeah…

PLC sent a warning that he wants his title back, and is not going to fade quietly into the night when it comes to the APB Tour. The Frenchman was launching like his life depended on it, and mixing his riding up in a way that saw him keep everyone in awestruck disbelief. He has always been one of the greatest of all time, and he showed it again today.

Amaury Lavernhe is quite rightly the man with most banana bench presses under his belt, and with his form today, he may well be the one bench-pressing them tomorrow too. Positioning himself perfectly on the reef left and right; riding the waves to their absolute full potential; launching looping air forwards just for kicks. He was on fire!

So that is an (incomplete) run-down of an historic day in professional bodyboarding. A day that may only be surpassed by what shall come tomorrow here in the Canary Islands.
We look forward to sharing that moment with you all online!

Next call: Thursday 1:30pm Gran Canaria time.

Las Palmas, Spain Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 13:30 WEST
Los Angeles, USA Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 05:30 PDT
Honolulu, USA Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 02:30 HAST
Sydney, Australia Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 23:30 AEDT
Perth, Australia Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 20:30 AWST
Cape Town, South Africa Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 14:30 SAST
Lisbon, Portugal Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 13:30 WEST
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 10:30 BRST
Santiago, Chile Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 09:30 CLST

Round 3 Results:

 

Round 4 Results:

Quarter Finals set:

 

Please follow and like us:
Previous Frontón King set to Explode!!!
Next There’s a New King in Town

You might also like

News 0 Comments

APB Tour Calendar

The APB announces the 2014 tour schedule   Please follow and like us:

News 0 Comments

Shark Island Challenge

The 2014 Shark Island Challenge invitational event has commenced its waiting period for the entire winter season. The confirmation of the athletes has not yet been released although contest director

News 0 Comments

Ben Player wins Pipe

After winning the 2013 world tour, Ben Player (Australia) has won the 1st tour event – The Pipe Challenge (Hawaii) in 6-8 ft waves. Ben Player took victory over Frenchman

0 Comments

No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply